Frederick George Pohland Medal

2015 Frederick George Pohland Medal Recipient:
Dr. Morton Barlaz, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE

Professor and Head
Department of Civil, Construction, & Environmental Engineering
NC State University

Dr. Morton A. Barlaz is Professor and Head of the Department of Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering at North Carolina State University. He received a B.S. in Chemical Engineering from the University of Michigan and an M.S. and Ph.D. in Civil and Environmental Engineering from the University of Wisconsin.

He has been involved in research on various aspects of solid waste since 1983. Over this time, he has conducted research on biological refuse decomposition, methane production, and the biodegradation of hazardous wastes in landfills. He has participated in two state-of-the-practice reviews of bioreactor landfills. His research forms the basis for much of the work done to assess the impact of landfills on methane emissions inventories. Dr. Barlaz is also recognized for his research on the use of life-cycle analysis to evaluate environmental emissions associated with alternate solid waste management strategies. Dr. Barlaz is the author of over 90 peer-reviewed publications and has made over 200 presentations at conferences throughout the world. In 1992 he was awarded a Presidential Faculty Fellowship from the National Science Foundation.

Dr. Barlaz has been active in service throughout his career. He is an Associate Editor for two journals (Waste Management and Journal of Environmental Engineering) and serves as co-chair of the bi-annual Intercontinental Landfill Research Symposium. He has served as chair of the Government Affairs Committee and the Lectures Committee for the Association of Environmental Engineering and Science Professors. Finally, he serves on the Science Advisory Committee for the International Waste Working Group.

Past Winners

Previous distinguished recipients of this honor include:




C. P. Leslie Grady, Jr., Ph.D., P.E., BCEE


H. David Stensel, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE


Michael K. Stenstrom, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE


John T. Novak, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE


David W. Jenkins, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE


Louis J. Thibodeaux, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE


Makram Suidan, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE


George Tchobanoglous, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE


C. Herb Ward, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE


Raymond C. Loehr, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE


R. Rhodes Trussell, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE

About the Frederick George Pohland Medal


The purpose of this award is to honor an individual who has made sustained and outstanding efforts to bridging environmental engineering research, education and practice.


A maximum of one award will be given annually. No award will be given when a worthy candidate is not identified.


Only members of the Association of Environmental Engineering and Science Professors (AEESP) and/or the American Academy of Environmental Engineers and Scientists (AAEES) are eligible to receive this award. An individual may receive the award only once; previous winners are ineligible.

Nature of the Award

The award will consist of a medal (with the inscription, "For outstanding contributions to bridging environmental engineering research, education and practice", a $1000 cash award, and reimbursement of up to $1,000 in travel expenses.

Nominating Procedure

Nominations must be made by members of AEESP and/or AAEES. Nomination packages should include: (1) a full curriculum vitae for the nominee; (2) a two-page cover letter from the nominator that highlights the nominee's contributions to bridging environmental engineering research, education and practice; and (3) at least two, but not more than five, additional letters of support from colleagues intimately familiar with the nominee's contributions to environmental engineering education. Supporting documentation is required at the time of nomination.

Click here for additional nomination information.

Selection Committee

The selection committee shall consist of the five members of the AEESP Awards Committee, plus one representative of the Pohland family and two representatives of the AAEES. The representative of the Pohland family is to be selected by the Pohland family, and there is no limit to the length of the term served by the Pohland family representative. The representatives of the AAEES will serve three-year terms and will be selected by the AAEES.

AAEES and AEESP thank the Pohland family and other donors of the Frederick George Pohland Memorial Fund for their generosity in establishing this award.

Information on where to submit a nomination package can be found here:

Back to Top