Frederick George Pohland Medal

2013 Frederick George Pohland Medal: Dr. H. David Stensel, P.E., BCEE

University of Washington

David Stensel is a Professor in Civil and Environmental Engineering at the University of Washington. He has worked in many different states, including New York, Utah, and California. Dave has dedicated his professional life to a seamless integration of academic research, teaching, and professional practice. His work exemplifies the full ‘life cycle’ of the engineering progress. After earning his doctorate from Cornell University in 1971, he spent the next ten years as a designer and developer of technology for the wastewater treatment processes. Dave’s work has led to the publication of over 60 peer-reviewed scientific and engineering articles, and his contribution as coauthor of the 2003 edition on the Classic Metcalf and Eddy text, “Wastewater Engineering, Treatment, Disposal, and Reuse”, is most notable. He is a former Board Member and Treasurer of AEESP, and has won the Water Pollution Control Federation Harrison Prescott Eddy Research Medal in 1987 and 1999, and the ASCE Environmental Engineering division Rudolf Hering Medal in 2006. Dave has made a significant impact throughout the field of Environmental Engineering, and has touched the hearts of many.

Past Winners

Previous distinguished recipients of this honor include:

2012 -- Michael K. Stenstrom, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE
2011 -- John T. Novak, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE
2010 -- David W. Jenkins, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE
2009 -- Louis J. Thibodeaux, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE
2008 -- Makram Suidan, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE
2007 -- George Tchobanoglous, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE
2006 -- C. Herb Ward, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE
2005 -- Raymond C. Loehr, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE
2005 -- R. Rhodes Trussell, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE

About the Frederick George Pohland Medal


The purpose of this award is to honor an individual who has made sustained and outstanding efforts to bridging environmental engineering research, education and practice.


A maximum of one award will be given annually. No award will be given when a worthy candidate is not identified.


Only members of the Association of Environmental Engineering and Science Professors (AEESP) and/or the American Academy of Environmental Engineers and Scientists (AAEES) are eligible to receive this award. An individual may receive the award only once; previous winners are ineligible.

Nature of the Award

The award will consist of a medal (with the inscription, "For outstanding contributions to bridging environmental engineering research, education and practice", a $1000 cash award, and reimbursement of up to $1,000 in travel expenses.

Nominating Procedure

Nominations must be made by members of AEESP and/or AAEES. Nomination packages should include: (1) a full curriculum vitae for the nominee; (2) a two-page cover letter from the nominator that highlights the nominee's contributions to bridging environmental engineering research, education and practice; and (3) at least two, but not more than five, additional letters of support from colleagues intimately familiar with the nominee's contributions to environmental engineering education. Supporting documentation is required at the time of nomination.

Click here for additional nomination information.

Selection Committee

The selection committee shall consist of the five members of the AEESP Awards Committee, plus one representative of the Pohland family and two representatives of the AAEES. The representative of the Pohland family is to be selected by the Pohland family, and there is no limit to the length of the term served by the Pohland family representative. The representatives of the AAEES will serve three-year terms and will be selected by the AAEES.

Click here for additional information on the Frederick George Pohland Medal.

AAEES and AEESP thank the Pohland family and other donors of the Frederick George Pohland Memorial Fund for their generosity in establishing this award.

Back to Top