We are now accepting applications for the 2023 Scholarships. For more information, go to https://www.eesfoundation.org/scholarship/.

Header Image

Frederick George Pohland Medal

2022 Frederick George Pohland Medal Recipient:

Pohland Medal Recipient

John Sutherland, Ph.D., BCEEM
Professor and Fehsenfeld Family Head of Environmental and Ecological Engineering
Purdue University

John W. Sutherland is the Fehsenfeld Family Head of Environmental and Ecological Engineering (EEE) at Purdue University. He is one of the founders of Green Manufacturing where the objectives are reduced adverse environmental impacts and improved occupational health, while maintaining economic competitiveness in manufacturing processes. He is an award-winning teacher in the area of Environmentally Responsible Design and Manufacturing, educating thousands of students, many outside of the environmental engineering discipline, about environmental stewardship opportunities in design and manufacturing. As the first permanent Head of EEE he has led 19 interdisciplinary faculty in the creation of an ABET accredited undergraduate degree, graduate degrees and a research enterprise. It is for these reasons and may others, that Dr. Sutherland is being recognized with this medal.

Past Winners

Previous distinguished recipients of this honor include:




Nancy G. Love, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE


Debra R. Reinhart, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE


Spyros G. Pavlostathis, Ph.D., BCEEM


Charles B. Bott, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE


Daniel B. Oerther, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE


Glen Daigger, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE


Morton Barlaz, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE


C. P. Leslie Grady, Jr., Ph.D., P.E., BCEE


H. David Stensel, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE


Michael K. Stenstrom, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE


John T. Novak, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE


David W. Jenkins, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE


Louis J. Thibodeaux, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE


Makram Suidan, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE


George Tchobanoglous, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE


C. Herb Ward, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE


Raymond C. Loehr, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE


R. Rhodes Trussell, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE

About the Frederick George Pohland Medal

This award honors an individual who has made sustained and outstanding efforts to bridge environmental engineering research, education, and practice. Only members of AEESP and/or the American Academy of Environmental Engineers and Scientists (AAEES) are eligible to receive this award. The award will consist of a medal, a $1000 cash award, and reimbursement of travel costs of up to $1,000 for travel to the award ceremony.

Nominations must be made by members of AEESP and/or AAEES. Nomination packages should include: (1) a cover letter from the nominator; (2) a full curriculum vitae for the nominee; (3) and at least two, but not more than five, additional letters of recommendation. Past nominations will be carried over and considered for three years and can be modified during this period.

Dr. Frederick G. Pohland (1931-2004) was Professor at the Georgia Institute of Technology and Professor and Edward R. Weidlein Chair of Environmental Engineering at the University of Pittsburgh. Fred's research led to fundamental advances in anaerobic processes. He received numerous honors and awards and was the author of more than 150 technical and scientific publications. Dr. Pohland was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 1993 for advancing the theory of anaerobic treatment processes and applications to solid waste management. Committed to applying research to practice and disseminating vital information, Dr. Pohland founded and chaired International Water Association (IWA) Specialist Committees to bring together practitioners, researchers and educators. Fred Pohland was a valued colleague and very dedicated to advancement of the profession of environmental engineering.

AAEES and AEESP thank the Pohland family and other donors to the Frederick George Pohland Memorial Fund for their generosity in establishing this award.

Information on where to submit a nomination package can be found here: http://www.aeesp.org/awards/frederick-george-pohland-medal.

Back to Top